2020 African Women’s Cup of Nations, AWCON Qualifiers to take place between September and October.

  • Deo Kalema
  • June 24, 2020
  • Sports

The elimination phase of the 2020 African Women’s Cup of Nations, AWCON Qualifiers which was postponed due to the health crisis caused by the coronavirus but sources around CAF indicate that the organizer of this competition, has sent correspondence to the countries concerned regarding this resumption and might take place between September and October 2020 according to reports . 

AWCON 2020 that was originally scheduled to be held in Democratic Republic of Congo, is still without a host country after the withdrawal of initial though Nigeria has expressed her intention to host the tournament.

The continental governing body of African football released the health guidelines to facilitate the safe return of football which is also consistent enough with developments.

Earlier last year, Confederation of African Football (CAF) confirmed an increase in the number of teams that will take part in the Africa Women’s Cup of Nations.

The development was confirmed on 17th July during the 41st CAF Congress in Cairo, Egypt implying  that 36 nations entered the 2020 edition qualification stage and the final tournament now goes from eight to 12 teams, a record for the African Football Confederation.

Super Falcons of Nigeria are defending Champions of the competition after defeating Cameroon and South Africa at the last two editions of the tournament in 2016 and 2018 respectively.

Falcons’ striker takes on Cameroon players during the 2018 AWCON tournament.

Uganda Women’s national team-Crested Cranes will face Burundi in the preliminary round of the 2020 African Women Cup of Nations qualifiers.

The two nations were meant to  face off in the two-legged tie that was to be played between April 6th and 14th.

Uganda will be away from home in the first leg before hosting Burundi in Kampala.

The first round draws includes:

Zambia Mozambique
Zimbabwe Mauritius
Malawi Eswatini
Namibia Botswana
Gabon Central Africa Republic
Angola Congo Brazavil
DRC Sao Tome and Principe
Tanzania Kenya
Burundi Uganda
Ethiopia Djibouti
Liberia Senegal
Guinea Bissau Gambia
Togo Niger Republic
Algeria Burkina Faso

Winners of first-round fixtures will play the top-seeded sides like defending Champions, Super Falcons of Nigeria, South Africa, Indomitable Lioness of Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Mali, and Morocco in the second round for AWCON 2020 Qualification spot.

CAF has scheduled a video conference Executive Committee meeting on June 30. This meeting will discuss the future of this AWCON amongst other competitions.

Do you have any news in your community or an opinion?: Share it with us at